The qualifying period for Waveland's 2018 elections ended on Friday, with three vying for the mayoral office, incumbent Mayor Mike Smith (D); John "Tommy" Longo (I); and Jay Trapani (I).

The qualifying candidates for Ward I Aldermen are: Henry Tebbe ( R ); Jay Fountain (D); and incumbent Jeremy Burke (I).

The qualifying candidates for Ward 2 Aldermen are: incumbent Bobby Richardson ( R ); and Laronne Lewis (D).

The qualifying candidates for Ward 3 Aldermen are: Don M. Siebenkittel ( R ); and incumbent Shane LaFontaine (D).

The qualifying candidates for Ward 4 Aldermen are: Brice Phillips (L); Mark Kidd (D); incumbent Charles Piazza (I); and Sara Cure (I).

Democrat candidates for executive committee include: Alfred Harris, Gerard Louis Harris, Sandra Harris, David K. Sauer, and Janis A. Vezzoso.

The primary election is scheduled for Oct. 2.

The general election is scheduled for Dec. 4.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.