Maureen and Brent Anderson

Well, there isn't a new sheriff in town -- Sheriff Ricky Adam ran unopposed in Tuesday's general election -- but there are a couple of new judges, another new supervisor and two new state representatives.

Hancock County voters on Tuesday elected Brent Anderson, the long-serving public works director of the city of Waveland, as the new state representative for District 122. Anderson, a Republican, defeated former Bay St. Louis City Councilwoman Wendy McDonald, a Democrat, 4,007 to 1,914 on Tuesday, according to unofficial totals.

"I cannot thank the people of Hancock County District 122 enough for their support," Anderson said Tuesday night after the final ballots were tallied. "I can assure you that I will work hard for Hancock County. The overwhelming confidence and support that was given to me is greatly appreciated."

Anderson will take the seat vacated by Rep. David Baria, who did not seek reelection.

"I would like to thank Rep. Baria for his time served for the people of Hancock County," Anderson said, "and I would also like to thank Miss Wendy for a clean, respectful race and I wish her the best of luck in all her future endeavors."

Jay McKnight, who defeated incumbent Dist. 95 Rep. Patricia Willis in the primary, faced no opposition in Tuesday's general election.

In perhaps the biggest upset of the night,Theresa M. Ryan unseated long-serving District 1 Supervisor David Yarborough. Ryan, a Republican, earned 843 votes in unofficial totals; Yarborough, an independent, earned 659. Democratic candidate Jefferson J. "Buster" Verdin IV earned 249.

"“I’d like to thank the citizens of District 1 for choosing me to represent you as your new supervisor," Ryan said. "It is such an honor to be elected and represent you and I am humbled that you would place your faith and trust in me. This is a responsibility that I do not take lightly, and I will endeavor to represent you with the utmost transparency and the greatest of efforts.”

Ryan will join fellow newcomer to the board, Kodie Koennen, who won the Republican primary in August and faced no opposition in the general election. Hancock Circuit Clerk officials said Tuesday there will be no run-offs.

In the Justice Court Judge 2 race, Republican Brian S. Necaise -- who defeated incumbent Judge Jay Lagasse in the primary -- won the seat. Necaise earned 2,878 votes to Independent candidate Teresa Ehrlich's 1,189.

In the Justice Court Judge 3 race, Republican candidate Eric C. Moran earned the right to replace Judge Tommy Carver -- who had vacated the position in an unsuccessful primary bid for sheriff. Moran defeated Libertarian candidate Lynn T. Smith 2,283 to 526, according to unofficial totals.

In the Constable 3 race, Republican Paul Taylor won, earning 1,509 votes to Democrat Steven L. Saucier's 603 and Independent candidate Guy "Tater" Graham's 842.

Among other winners on Tuesday:

• Incumbent District 2 Supervisor Greg Shaw, R., held on to his seat, defeating Henry "Hank" Ward, I.,789-287.

• Incumbent District 4 Supervisor Scotty Adam, R., won over Thaddeus Collier, D., 1,634 to 804.

Unopposed candidates in this year's general election -- all Republicans -- include Hancock County Chancery Clerk Tim Kellar; Circuit Clerk nominee Kendra "KK" Ladner Necaise; Sheriff Ricky Adam; Tax Collector/Assessor Jimmie Ladner; District 3 Supervisor nominee Kodie Koenenn; District 5 Supervisor Darrin "Bo" Ladner; Justice Court Judge 1 Desmond W. Hoda; Constable Place 1 Terry L. Necaise; Constable Place 2 Ray Seal, Jr.; and Bay-Waveland School District Trustee Mike Bell.

In statewide races, Hancock County voters echoed the rest of Mississippi, casting the majority of ballots for Republicans. In the governor's race, Republican Tate Reeves won 7,763 votes in Hancock County, while Democrat Jim Hood earned 3,147; Constitution candidate Bob Hickingbottom, 18; and Independent David R. Singletary, 124.

In the lieutenant governor's race, Hancock County favored current Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, a Republican, over Democrat Jay Hughes by 8,241 to 2,685.

In the Attorney General's race, Lynn Fitch, R., defeated Jennifer Riley Collins, D., 8,217 to 2,716.

Election results should be certified by next Tuesday afternoon.

The winners of Tuesday's races will take office in January.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.