The qualifying period for county and state offices ended at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, and Hancock County will have a full slate of candidates for this year’s Republican primary elections in August -- but only two races will have Democratic contenders.

Several current local officials will be running uncontested this year, including Hancock Circuit Clerk Kendra Ladner Necaise; Coroner Jeff Hair; Election Commissioner Dist. 4 Donna Henry; Justice Court Judge 1 Desmond W. Hoda; Supervisor District 5 Darrin “Bo” Ladner; and Tax Assessor/Collector Jimmie Ladner.

Five candidates qualified for the chancery clerk’s position after long-time Chancery Clerk Tim Kellar announced last year he would not be seeking reelection.

The candidates are Jordan Bradford, Kodie Koenenn, JC Brignone and Tiffany Lee Cowman, all Republicans; and Henry Ward, Democrat.

The only other race with a Democratic candidate is for the Supervisor Ward 1 seat, Cody Shiyou. On the Republican ticket for that race, incumbent Supervisor Theresa Ryan will face Donald Wayne Graham and Christopher “Packer” Ladner in the primary.

Candidates for other races include:

• For Constable Place 1, incumbent Terry Necaise and Danny “Boy” Hoda, both Republicans.

• Constable Place 2, Carl N. Berry III, John Ladner, Christopher Dunn Sholar and Colin Freeman, all Republicans.

• Constable Place 3, Guy “Tater” Graham, David J. Perks and incumbent Paul Taylor, all Republicans.

• Election Commissioner Dist. 2, incumbent Sam Henley and Tad Shaw, both Independents.

• Justice Court Judge 2, Williams “Bill” Covington and incumbent Brian S. Necaise, both Republicans.

• Justice Court Judge 3, incumbent Eric C. Moran, R., and Lynn T. Smith, L.

• Sheriff, incumbent Ricky Adam, Johnny R. Raffeo Jr., Channing Reynolds and Nathan “Corky” Hoda, all Republicans.

• Supervisor District 2, incumbent Greg Shaw, Chris Smith and Byron Ladner, all Republicans; and Timothy P. Stinson, Jr., Libertarian.

• Supervisor District 3, Shea Michael Ladner and Charles “Chuck” Clark, both Republicans.

• Supervisor District 4, incumbent Scotty Adam and Louis Jimmy Necaise, Jr., both Republicans.

The 2023 Elections dates are as follows:

• Primary Election Day - Tuesday, Aug. 8.

• Primary Runoff Election Day - Tuesday, Aug. 29.

• General/Special Election Day - Tuesday, Nov. 7.

• General/Special Runoff Election Day - Tuesday, Nov. 28.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.