Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Palazzo wins primary, Cochran & McDaniel to square off again
By Dwayne Bremer
Jun 6, 2014, 18:44

Steven Palazzo emerged as the winner of the GOP's Mississippi Fourth Congressional District primary Wednesday after a strong challenge Tuesday by former U.S. Rep Gene Taylor of Bay St. Louis.
Palazzo avoided a runoff by taking just over 50 percent of the vote.
Results show Palazzo collected 53,208 votes to Taylor's 45,363. Tom Carter collected 4,861; Tavis Kelly netted 1,098; and Ron Vincent finished last with 888.
Palazzo will now take on Democratic winner Matt Moore; Libertarian candidate Joey Robinson; Reform Party candidate Sarge Jackson, and two independents, Cindy Burleson and Ed Reich, in the Nov. 4 general election.
In the Republican primary for U.S. Senate, there was no clear winner Tuesday incumbent Thad Cochran will face-off against challenger Chris McDaniel in a runoff on June 24.
McDaniel led Cochran slightly after all of the votes were counted Tuesday, but third candidate Tom Carey was able to get just enough votes to force the runoff.
Results show McDaniel collected 155,040 votes to Cochran's 153,654, and Carey's 4,789.
"We were excited to be the one with the most votes Tuesday and we have three weeks before we can officially claim victory," McDaniel spokesman Keith Plunkett said. "Our campaign has a lot of energy and we will be trying to rally our supporters once again in the next few weeks."
Cochran's campaign could not be reached by press time Friday.
The winner of the runoff will take on Democratic candidate Travis Childers, who easily won his party's primary on Tuesday.


Advertise Here