Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Advertise Here
Eight file for state’s 4th District House seat
By Dwayne Bremer
Mar 7, 2014, 20:34

A total of eight candidates from three different political parties have thrown their respective hats in the ring for this year's Mississippi 4th Congressional District race.
The race will feature five Republicans, two Democrats, and one Libertarian party member.
The Democratic and Republican primaries will be held on June 4.
In Hancock County, voters will be able to cast votes at their traditional county voting precincts with a few notable exceptions.
Voters in the Waveland West precinct will now cast their votes at the fire station on Highway 90 and voters in the North Bay West precinct will cast votes at American Legion Post 139.
Additionally, the county has consolidated the Ansley, Clermont Harbor, and Lakeshore precincts, all of which will now vote at the Lakeshore Community Center at 6440 Lower Bay Road.
The 4th congressional district encompasses the entire Mississippi Gulf Coast and extends north into areas of the Pine Belt.
This year's candidates include: Incumbent Steven Palazzo (R) of Gulfport; former U.S. Rep. Gene Taylor (R) of Bay St. Louis; Ron Vincent (R) of Hattiesburg; Tom Carter (R) of Picayune; and Tavish Kelly (R) of Carriere.
Democratic candidates include Trish Causey of Ocean Springs and Matt Moore of Biloxi.
Joey Robinson of Ocean Springs is the lone Libertarian candidate-- there will be no Libertarian primary.
In Mississippi, voters do not have to declare to which political party they belong.
On June 4, voters will have the choice to cast ballots in either the Democratic or Republican primary, but not both.
If one candidate does not receive a majority of votes in the primary, a runoff election will be held on June 25.
The winners of the respective primaries will face each other and Robinson in the general election on Nov. 4.


Advertise Here