B-W Garden Club to host Spring Pilgrimage March 8
By Echo Staff
Mar 4, 2014, 18:02
The members of the Bay-Waveland Garden Club are in full stride this year as they celebrate the 75th anniversary of the club's service to the communities of Bay St. Louis and Waveland.
This year, the Spring Pilgrimage will be held from noon-4 p.m. on Saturday, March 8.
The Spring Pilgrimage Tour this year will kick off at the Garden Center at 541 Main St. in Bay St. Louis where visitors can pick up maps, brochures, and enjoy light refreshments. The tour is free and open to the public.
Properties on the tour this year include:
• Our Lady of the Gulf Church
The present structure serving Our Lady of the Gulf Parish was begun in 1908, replacing the former wooden structure which burned several years before. The cornerstone of the church was laid on October 4, 1908, with the whole church being completed in 1926. It is one of the largest churches in Miss. with a seating capacity of 450.
The high altar in this beautiful Romanesque style structure is a perfect example of Italian art. The Carrarra marble is used throughout, and the altar was erected to commemorate the first centennial of the parish in 1945.
The Pelican medallion at the front of the altar is a symbol of Redemption and the Eucharist. The three main statues in the church, the large Crucifix to the left of the altar, the Blessed Virgin Mary, and St. Joseph are all of Carrarra marble.
The Stations of the Cross, an example of three dimensional art, were completed and installed in 1920. The Holy Water
Fonts at all of the entrances are made of clam shells in remembrance of the Sacrament of Baptism.
Stairs in the church at the altar, tabernacle, and sanctuary indicate Spiritual ascent.
The painting of Our Lady of the Gulf above the high altar was actually done on cloth and attached to the Dome.
The Stained Glass windows which were imported from Munich, Germany depict the traditions of the Church as well as Holy Scripture. They were installed not only as works of art, but also originally as a form of catechism for those who could not read.
On the ceiling of the Church is a painting of Jesus in the center surrounded by paintings of the Apostles. The choir loft located in the back and above the congregation enhances the wonderful acoustics of this building.
Our Lady of the Gulf is rich in its heritage as a Catholic Church and is a beautiful testament to the Faith.
• Our Lady of the Woods Shrine
In 1858, Father Louis Buteux was returning from France where he had gone to recover his health. His ship encountered a life threatening storm, and it was doubtful if anyone would survive. Father Buteux vowed a special tribute to the Blessed Virgin.
When a parishioner also seeking the intercession of Mary, had his prayers answered, he erected the Shrine now known as the Shrine of Our Lady of the woods on the property of Our Lady of the Gulf Parish.
When the statue arrived from France, it was placed in the Shrine. Throughout all of the years, the statue, although not made of concrete, has never been evacuated in a storm, and has withstood the ravages of time, fire and hurricanes.
It has served as a spiritual resting place for prayer and meditation for many throughout the years.
• The Pursell Home
The original section of the home of Robert and Judith Pursell, which is located at the corner of Union and Second streets in Bay St. Louis, was built in 1874. At that time it was owned by the Funeral Home on Union St. and was used as space to store coffins. The original part of the home was built of barge boards that had washed ashore, and insulated with burlap feed sacks nailed to the boards.
In 1929, new owners added a porch on the Second St. side facing the beach. During the 1930's a gentleman who was a barber lived in the house, and used the front room as his barber shop. An elderly woman who used to live in the neighborhood says she can still remember her mother walking her and her siblings down the street to get haircuts. The home was damaged in the 1947 Hurricane, and the porch was enclosed for more inside room, and now serves as the dining area and entrance from the porch.
The room divider between the living room and entry way is the beveled glass door obtained from the old original funeral home building next door which was destroyed in Hurricane Katrina.
Some interesting points in the home are the mosaic tile on the front porch done by Mrs. Pursell from pieces of tile collected from estate sales, garage sales, and thrift stores. The mosaic tile in the kitchen is from broken china she collected from antique dealers. When they broke a piece of china, they would put it in zip lock bags and save it for her.
The pot rack over the kitchen sink is a ladder from a set of old bunk beds from the 1950's.
The kitchen table is made from an old cypress door. Mrs. Pursell and her granddaughter painted the pool of fish on top and her husband built the base.
Mrs. Pursell noticed the home one day when she and her husband were visiting Bay St. Louis and he bought it for her for their 33 wedding anniversary which makes it all the more special to her. With her vivid imagination, she set out, with the help of friends, to make this plain little house the cutest cottage in town.
From the cute homemade curtains to the vibrantly colored rooms to the brick courtyard and the front porch swing, it is truly a happy place bringing smiles to all who pass through its doors.
• Alice Moseley Folk Art and Antique Museum
The Alice Moseley Museum honors nationally acclaimed folk artist, humorist, and storyteller Alice Latimer Moseley ( 1909-2004). Visitors and tour directors rate the Museum a "must see" attraction on any visit to the Gulf Coast.
The Museum features Miss Alice on video sharing her jokes and stories. Forty-seven of her vibrant originals are on display, giving you a peek into life as Miss Alice savored it. The antique section of the Museum contains the 35 year collection of Alice's son Tim Moseley.
There is a wide array of wonder items, such as art pottery, art glass, and a wide range of collectable Americana. Special items include Newcomb, Roseville, Weller and Rookwood pottery, as well as a delightful quirky collection of majolica figurals. An entire window case is filled with art deco such as Tiffany, steuben, Bohemian, and Murano glass.
The museum is an amazing reflection of Miss Alice, right down to the beaded board walls and white picket fence of her landmark Blue House. Her des, red hat and photos of her beloved rescue Beagle, Herman, as well as her "bread box" containing her paints and brushes serve to recall a charmingly humorous Southern artist.
• Waveland's Ground Zero Hurricane Museum
Not only was the Waveland Civic Center (the old Waveland School) the only building south of the railroad track to survive Hurricane Katrina, it is the only public building that was left in the city after the storm. Although heavily damaged, it was restored to its original state by a grant from Mississippi Archives and History.
The building is now being used to house Waveland's Ground Zero Hurricane Museum and Carousel of the Olympic Sea.
This Carousel was donated to the children of Waveland after Hurricane Katrina by the port Townsend, Washington carousel Association. It is a charming, small carousel which was crafted and painted by the school children of Port Townsend under the direction of Bill Dentzel, whose grandfather was the famed carousel maker of the 1800's.
On loan to the museum from the University of Southern Mississippi, are two quilts made from the T shirts of the volunteers from all over the United States who came to assist the Mississippi Coast in the recovery process after Kartrina. These shirts are autographed, and show the many areas represented in the recovery effort.
The museum also houses plates from the USM Campus Gulf Coast Cafeteria found after the storm. They were given to the Long Beach School children for decorating.
The combination of the history of the Old Waveland Elementary School and the Ground Zero Museum make this a pleasant and educational stop on this year's Pilgrimage Tour.
• The Beach Boulevard Home of Julie Rosson
This breathtaking home was re-built in 2007 after being totally destroyed in Katrina. It is located on the beautiful beach of the Mississippi Gulf Coast at 721 Beach Blvd. in Waveland. This large home of approximately 6,000 square feet sits on 1.7 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. The spacious living has a fireplace and an attached formal dining room.
The breakfast and sunroom off the kitchen features a double sided fireplace separating these two areas.
This four-bedroom, four-bath home, also features a gym, eightseat theatre, large game room, and an office.
The floors throughout are of old heart pine which compliment the custom made mantels and cabinets.
The downstairs entertaining area features stained concrete floors, a fully equipped outdoor kitchen, gunite pool and waterfall, and a golf green in the rear of the property.
The beautiful welcoming live oak in front of the brick entry stairway leads up to the front porch and an amazing view of the beach and Mississippi Sound.