Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Advertise Here
Mayoral races on in Bay, Díhead and Pass
By Dwayne Bremer
May 31, 2013, 23:59

A month-long election cycle in Bay St. Louis, Diamondhead, and Pass Christian comes to an end Tuesday when voters will finally choose their elected officials for the next four years.
Several candidates in each city have already secured their respective places in office by being unopposed in the general election.
However, there are still more than a dozen seats up for grabs, including the mayor's office in each city.
Polls will open at 7 a.m. Tuesday and close at 7 p.m.
Absentee voting will conclude today at noon.
The candidates who receive the most votes per race on Tuesday will be the winner. There will be no runoffs.
Here is a look at the candidates for the various races.

Bay St. Louis:
*Mayor: Les Fillingame (D) and Jeff Harding (R).
*Ward Six councilman: Ray Kidd (R) and Lonnie Falgout (I).
*Council-at-Large: Mike Favre (D), Gary Knoblock (R), Johanna Spicuzza (I), and Clark Breland (I).
*Mayor: Tommy Schafer (R) and John Fletcher (I).
*Ward Three councilman: Tom Sislow (R) and Michael Schaefer (I).
*Ward Four councilman: Ron Rech (R) and J.C. Price (I).
*Council-at-Large: Ernie Knobloch (R) and Ken Overstreet (C).

Pass Christian:
*Mayor: Leo "Chipper" Mcdermott (R) and Joseph Piernas (D).
*Ward Two alderman: Amy Stewart Steiner (R) and W. Earl Washington Sr. (D).
*Ward Three Alderman: Anthony Hall (D) and Eugene Russell (R).
*Ward Four Alderman: Victor Pickich (R) and LyTanya Toomer (D).
*Alderman-at-Large: Anita Giani (I), Tommy Piernas (D), and Kenny Torgeson (R).


Advertise Here