Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Advertise Here
Hancock, Stanislaus win division golf titles
By Joseph W. Gex, II
Apr 19, 2013, 19:26

The Hancock Hawks and the St. Stanislaus Rock-a-chaws claimed respective divisional golf championships in high school golf action this past week.
The Hancock Hawks won the boys’ division at the Division 8-6A golf championships held at the Mississippi National Course. Hancock won the title with a team score of 331 to outdistance Ocean Springs 376, Gulfport 356 and St. Martin with 360.
Hancock’s Connor Entriken was low medalist in the match and was named to the All-Tournament team along with teammate Evan Peeler.
The Lady Hawks won the girls division title in the Region 8-Division 8 championships. Hancock had a team score of 169 followed by Biloxi 179, D’Iberville 248 and Gulfport 272.
Emily Ross was low medalist with a score of 79 and was named to the All-Tournament team.
The Rocks hosted the Division 8-4A tournament at Diamondhead Country Club on Tuesday, April 16th. SSC claimed the division championship with a team score of 333 followed by Vancleave 346, Poplarville 392, Bay High 448 and Forrest County AHS 524.
Patrick Powers of SSC was low medalist with a score of 77 and was named to the All-Tournament team. Other members of the SSC team that competed were Riley Baggett (85), Matthew Saucier (85), Cole Baggett (86) and Penn St. Paul (86). The Bay High Tigers were led by Gavin Smith (95), Joseph Wycoff (125), Tanner Collins (109) and Ben Herrington (119).
The Pass Christian Lady Pirates placed second in the Region 7-District 8 championships with a team score of 213 followed by OLA with a score of 254. St. Patrick claimed the team title with a score of 189. Presley Baggett won low medalist honors and was named to the All-Tournament team with Hannah Mitchell of Pass Christian.
The Hawks, Lady Hawks and the Rocks have all qualified for the MHSAA state team championships that will be held at various locations throughout the state May 1-2. Entriken, Ross, Presley Baggett and Powers all have qualified for the individual classification state championships.


Advertise Here