Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Advertise Here
Mayoral races on in the Bay, Pass, Diamondhead
By Dwayne Bremer
Mar 8, 2013, 23:25

Five members of the Bay St. Louis City Council were assured of another four years in office and Mayor Les Fillingame saw two challengers emerge as the qualifying period for this year's municipal elections came to a close.
Friday was the deadline for candidates to qualify for the 2013 municipal elections in Bay St. Louis, Pass Christian and Diamondhead. 53 total candidates qualified for races in the three cities.
Party primaries will be held on May 7 and the general elections will be held on June 4.
Independent candidates will appear on the general election ballot only.
Voters have until April 7 to register or change their registrations at the Hancock County Circuit Clerk's Office.
Bay St. Louis Ward One Councilman Doug Seal, Ward Two Councilman Wendy McDonald, Ward Three Councilman Jeffrey Reed, Ward Four Councilman Bobby Compretta, and Ward Five Councilman and current council president Joey Boudin are all running unopposed in their respective races.
"It's an honor that so many of us did not have an opponent," Boudin said Friday. "We don't always agree, but we work well together. We are going to continue to work on improving the quality of life in our city and being responsible with the tax-payers money."
Ward Six Councilman Ray Kidd (R) was the only incumbent councilman to have a challenger. Lonnie Falgout (I) qualified Friday and will face Kidd in the general election.
In the councilman-at-large race, a total of six candidates emerged.
Those candidates are Bennis Moss (D), Mike Favre (D), Gregory Farve (D) Gary Knoblock (R) Clark Breland (I) and Johanna Spicuzza (I) .
Fillingame (D), saw two challengers emerge just before the deadline of 5 p.m. Friday.
Mike Weems (D), who ran against Fillingame in 2009, and Jeff Harding (R) both turned in their paperwork to run for mayor.
Weems and Fillingame will slap leather in the Democratic primary on May 7. The winner will face Harding on June 4.
In Diamondhead, 23 candidates signed up for the city's first municipal elections.
Mayor Chuck Ingraham will face two challengers, Tommy Schafer and Carl Necaise, in the Republican primary.
John Fletcher qualified as an Independent and will face the Republican winner in the general election.
Other candidates in Diamondhead include:
*Councilman-At-Large: Ernie Knobloch (R), Kenneth Edmonds (R), and Ken Overstreet (Constitutional).
*Ward One: Hank Holcomb (R), Joseph G. Lopes Jr. (R), Robert E. Delgado (R) and Alvin J. Walsh III (R).
*Ward Two: Blaine Lafontaine (R), Robert J. Esher (R), Eric Allen Nolan (R) and Joe Murray (R).
*Ward Three: Michael Schaefer (I), Jim Brumfield (R), Dominic Palisi (R), Kenny Schmitt (R), and Thomas Sislow (R).
*Ward Four: Ron Rech (R), J.C. Price (R) and Jeffrey Chastain (R).
In Pass Christian, incumbent mayor: Leo "Chipper" McDermott (R) will face Joseph Piernas (D) in the general election.
Ward races will see 12 candidates vying for office.
Ward One: Robin "Rory" Rafferty (R) and Buddy Clarke (R).
Ward Two: Amy Stewart Steiner (R) and W. Earl Washington Sr. (D).
Ward Three: Anthony Hall (D) and Eugene Russell (R).
Ward Four: Victor Pickich (R), Buddy Scarborough (R) and LaTanya Toomer (D).
Alderman-At-Large: Anita Giani (I), Tommy Piernas (D) and Kenny Torgeson (R).


Advertise Here