Spring Pilgrimage Tour of Homes
By Jennifer Lenain
Mar 8, 2013, 23:10
The Bay-Waveland Garden Club will host its annual Spring Pilgrimage Tour of Homes on Saturday, March 9.
The tour will begin at 11 a.m. at the Waveland Civic Center on Coleman Ave.
Visitors will be able to pick up maps and brochures while enjoying light refreshments before the homes open at noon.
The tour will end at 4 p.m.
The tour consists of four waterfront homes and two other homes in Bay St. Louis, Waveland and Kiln.
The houses showcased in the tour are: The home of Mr. and Mrs. Henry Martinez located at 815 N. Beach Blvd., Waveland; the home of Glen Hood and Chuck Underwood located at 1815 Nicholson Ave., Waveland; the home of Mrs. Mittie Smith located at 505 Eighth St., Bay St. Louis; the home of Mr. and Mrs. Uless Bergeron located at 7061 Bayou Talla Lane in Kiln; the home of Mr. and Mrs. Leo Hladky located at 140 Elaine St. in Bay St. Louis; and the gardens and outdoors at Mr. and Mrs. Ron Thorp's home located at 714 N. Beach Blvd., Bay St. Louis.
The Martinez's home was completed in 2010 and is more than 5,000 square-feet.
The Mediterranean style home is complete with ornamental iron work, clay tile roofing and Venetian plaster was applied directly to the walls to resemble the uneven color characteristics of old world plaster.
Inside the home is Italian-polished porcelain and marble flooring, a stained Spanish cedar coffer ceiling in the living room with a brass and crystal chandelier, and another wood coffer ceiling accents the family room.
The family room has a unique bar top that was made from the wooden steps of the home that previously stood on the property and was destroyed in Hurricane Katrina.
Hood and Underwood's log home, known for its exterior log siding, was purchased in 2005 and given stronger features after Hurricane Katrina damaged it.
The renovations included porches, a second floor and an open kitchen and dining area.
Integrated into the home are an island made from the bead board of the old house and the heart pine flooring in the guest house.
The 800 square-feet home has been given the name "Breezy Porches."
The Smith home was built in 1993 to accommodate a large family and is filled with antiques and personal collectibles.
A perfect setting for informal entertaining is around the double-sided fireplace.
Roses and amaryllis decorate the yard, which also features a large water fountain and an antique church bell in a custom bell tower.
The bell was used at the Bayou LaCroix church from 1895 until 1963 when the buffer zone was established.
The Bergeron home is 4,000 square-feet with an open floor plan.
It is decorated with Peuvian artifacts and furniture and unusual lighting fixtures.
The deck overlooks five acres bordering Bayou Talla that are full of azaleas, crepe myrtles, gardenias, Japanese magnolias and camellias that date back 60 years.
The Hladky home is a Jourdan River weekend get-away and is currently the third home to be rebuilt on the property since the 1960s.
Inside are three bedrooms and a bonus bunk room to accommodate the entire family.
The living and dining areas have a panoramic view of the river.
The Thorp property can be visited for rest and refreshments in the outdoor living space.
Featured are the Bay of St. Louis views from the screen porch, deck and pier.