Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Advertise Here
Bay, Diamondhead mayors still unopposed
By Dwayne Bremer
Feb 26, 2013, 19:34

With a little more than a week left before qualifying for this year's municipal election closes, Bay St. Louis Mayor Les Fillingame and Diamondhead Mayor Chuck Ingraham still do not have any challengers.
The race garnering the most attention so far in Bay St. Louis, Diamondhead and Pass Christian is Bay St. Louis councilman-at-large race.
Last month, long-time Councilman-At-Large Bill Taylor announced he would not seek re-election.
Since then, six candidates have signed up to try to win Taylor's seat.
On the Democrat side, Bennis Moss Jr., Mike Favre, Mike Lee, and Gregory Favre have qualified.
A Republican, Gary Knoblock, and an Independent, Clark Breland, have also qualified.
Last week, Jeff Harding (R) withdrew his name from the at-large race.
While the at-large race is crowded, the same cannot be said for other races in Bay St. Louis.
Fillingame (D), Ward One Councilman Doug Seal (I), Ward Two Councilman Wendy McDonald (D), Ward Three Councilman Jeffrey Reed; Ward Four Councilman Bobby Compretta; Ward Five Councilman Joey Boudin (D), and Ward Six Councilman Ray Kidd, have all qualified and are all currently unopposed.
In Pass Christian, incumbent Mayor Leo "Chipper" McDermott (R) will take on Joseph Piernas (D) in the general election, unless another candidate qualifies by next Friday.
In Ward One, incumbent Robin "Rory" Rafferty is being challenged by Buddy Clarke in the Republican primary.
In Ward Two, Amy Stewart Steiner has qualified on the Republican side and W. Earl Washington has qualified on the Democrat side.
In Ward Three, incumbent Anthony Hall (D) does not have a Democratic challenger yet; however, Eugene Russell has qualified on the Republican ticket.
Ward Four Alderman Huey Bang resigned his position last week.
Vying for the Ward Four position on the Republican side are Victor Pickich and Gene Rogers.
Earlier this week, incumbent Alderman-At-Large Renee Brooks announced she would not be running for re-election.
Anita Giani (I) has qualified for the at-large position and so has Tony Piernas (D).
In Diamondhead, Ingraham (R) and Councilman-At-Large Ernie Knobloch (R), are currently running unopposed.
In Ward One, Councilman Henry Holcomb will take on Joseph Lopez Jr. in the Republican primary.
In Ward Two, Councilman Diane Ackerman is being challenged by Blaine Lafontaine in the Republican race.
In Ward Four, Councilman Ron Rech is being challenged by Jeffrey Chastain in the Republican primary; and in Ward Three, Michael Schaefer (I) is the only candidate to qualify so far. Party primaries will be held on May 7 and the general elections will be held on June 4. Independent candidates will appear on the general election ballot only.
Candidates have until Friday, March 8 at 4:59 p.m. to qualify.
Voters have until April 7 to register or change their registrations at the Hancock County Circuit Clerk's Office.


Advertise Here