Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Advertise Here
SSC recognizes athletes
By Joseph W. Gex, II
Feb 15, 2013, 17:37

St. Stanislaus College recently recognized the student-athletes for the fall sports of cross country, swimming and football.
For each sport, certificates of participation or varsity letters were presented and certificates of academic excellence for those who achieved a minimum GPA of 3.0 or higher during their sport’s season. Special awards were presented in each sport, as well.
The cross country team claimed the Class 4A state championship in November which was the school’s first title in the sport since 1991. There were 17 varsity letters presented along with 14 academic excellence certificates. In junior high, Royce Garcia earned the Most Valuable Runner and the Mr. Rock-a-chaw awards. James Sharp was presented the Most Improved Runner and Andrew Smith earned the Hardest Worker award.
For the varsity team, Gavin Gros merited the Coach’s award while Christian Nunez received the Most Improved Runner award. Bret Reinhart was presented the Most Valuable Runner award while Bingham Wikoff and Wyatt Scott each earned the Mr. Rock-a-chaw award.
In swimming, there were eight varsity letters presented and 13 academic excellence certificates awarded. Andrew Lucore earned the Brother Albert Ledet Memorial award and Matthew Townsend the Most Improved Swimmer award. Robert Simpson was named the Coach’s award winner while Roe Powell was presented the Spirit award. Peter Neto merited the Most Valuable Swimmer award and Bennett Holland was named the Mr. Rock-a-chaw award winner.
In junior high football, there were 40 academic excellence certificates presented. For seventh grade football, Lewie Negrotto was named Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman while Brandon Tartavoulle was named Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman. Cahill Marlowe earned Most Outstanding Offensive Back while Kayden Mahan was named Most Outstanding Defensive Back. Harrison Brewer was presented the Most Outstanding Receiver award while Jordan Nunez earned Most Outstanding Linebacker. Christopher Lucore was named the Most Improved Player while Jake Gardner merited the Coach’s award. Grant Shinka earned the Hustle award and Marlowe the Mr. Rock-a-chaw Award.
In eighth grade football, Christopher Miller was named Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman and Chris Brown Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman. Brandon Berry earned Most Oustanding Offensive Back and Brendan Logan Most Outstanding Defensive Back. Corbin Blanchard merited the Most Outstanding Receiver award and John David Luffey the Most Outstanding Linebacker award. Miles Brennan was named the Most Improved Offensive Player while Ricky Schaefer was named the Most Improved Defensive Player. Andrew Elkins was presented the Coach’s award and Seth Taylor the Hustle award. The Mr. Rock-a-chaw award was presented to Chase Rogers.
In high school football, there were 34 varsity letters presented and 38 academic excellence certificates.
The Forster Commagere Memorial Coach’s Award was presented to Perre Carter and Cody Logan.
The J.E. Loiacano Award for off-season dedication was merited by Alex Myrick.
The Harry “Wop” Glover Memorial Award for the most outstanding defensive lineman was presented to Jordan Bradford. The John “Baby Grand” Scafide Memorial Award for the most outstanding offensive lineman was merited by Ryan Gibson.
The C.J. “Pete” Taylor Memorial Award for the most outstanding offensive player was earned by Brennan Bradley. The Doc Blanchard Memorial Award for the most outstanding player was presented to Tyler Allen.


Advertise Here