Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
SSC alum Artigues inducted into MACJC Sports Hall of Fame
By Joseph W. Gex, II
Jun 7, 2017, 00:20

Jay Artigues, a former St. Stanislaus College and Pearl River Community College standout player and coach, joined 14 other standouts and was inducted into the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges Athletic Hall of Fame in a ceremony on Tuesday, April 25th at the Muse Center on the campus of Hinds Community College.
Artigues stated, "I am both excited and humbled by this tremendous honor. Being able to represent PRCC as a student, player and coach was an incredible experience. I want to thank Dr. William Lewis and everyone involved at PRCC for this honor."
Artigues prepped at SSC from 1985-87 where he set the single-season batting average record with a .521 mark before heading off to PRCC.
At PRCC, Artigues starred for the Wildcats at second base and also set a career batting average mark at the school while earning All-State and All-Region XXIII honors.
Artigues continued playing for Belhaven College after his time at PRCC. While at Belhaven, Artigues earned All-Conference honors at second base while setting the single-season mark for on-base percentage at .538 and the sixth highest career batting average with a .375 mark.
After graduating from Belhaven in 1992 with a B.S. in Business Administration, Artigues entered the coaching ranks volunteering his time at Springhill College in Mobile while he obtained a Master's Degree in Sport Coaching from the United States Sports Academy.
Following his year at Springhill College and obtaining his master's degree, Artigues served as Dean of Students and head baseball coach at St. Louis Catholic High School in Lake Charles, LA. He led the Saints to the Class 2A state quarter-finals in 1996. He spent one year at St. Thomas Aquinas High School in Hammond as athletic director and head baseball coach before moving to the collegiate coaching ranks.
His first stop in collegiate coaching was as a volunteer assistant coach at UNO in 1998.
Artigues then moved to Bossier Parish Community College in Shreveport for three seasons where he led them to a 107-57 record. In his last season at BPCC, Artigues mentored the team to a school record 46 wins and a #8-ranking in the final NJCAA poll.
In 2002, Artigues took over a PRCC program that he mentored for four seasons. During that span, he led the Wildcats to a 168-51 record, three conference titles and an appearance in the JUCO World Series. In his final season, his Wildcats won a school record 46 games and ended the regular season as the #1-ranked team in America.
Following PRCC, Artigues took over the Southeastern Louisiana University Lions which he led for eight seasons. Under his mentorship, the Lions produced three All-Americans, four Freshman All-Americans, a Capital One Academic All-American and a National Stopper of the Year winner in Stefan Lopez.
After eight years at the helm of the Lions diamond, Artigues was hired by SELA as the school's athletic director in 2013 where he has led one of the Southland Conference's most consistent athletic programs.
The Lions have won seven conference championships, as well as, numerous post season playoff bids in his four years leading the athletic program.
Artigues added, "In athletics, my time spent at PRCC as both a player and coach were some of my most favorite years in athletics. The lessons I learned from Dr. Lewis and others have helped every day of my life. At Southeastern Louisiana, we have the same philosophy of excellence in the classroom, on the field and in the community. That is the bedrock of the lessons I learned at PRCC and I am extremely thankful of my time spent there."
Artigues is also a member of the Pearl River Community College Athletic Hall of Fame and the Great Wall of Rocks for Athletics at St. Stanislaus.
Jay and his wife, Rachel, are the proud parents of two sons Christopher and Casey.
The MACJC Athletic Hall of Fame began on January 23, 2007 with three members from each school being inducted. The inductees were whittled down to two from each school in 2008 and finally down to one inductee from each school each succeeding year.
Previous PRCC inductees include Jeff Posey (2016), J. Larry Ladner (2015), Douglas Bryan Daniels, Sr. (2014), Steve Regan (2013), Mark Cochran (2012), Bobby Weaver (2011), J.E. Loiacano (2010), Frank N. "Twig" Branch (2009), Tommy Walters (2008), Jerrel Wilson (2008), Thomas D. "Dobie" Holden (2007), Willis Heidelberg (2007), and Antrice McGill Walker (2007).


Advertise Here