Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
BWYC set to host the 68th annual MCYA Chapman Regatta June 10-11
By Echo staff
Jun 7, 2017, 00:19

This year for the first time in 68 years, there will be a change in the competition format for the annual Mississippi Coast Yachting Association (MCYA) Chapman Regatta to be hosted by Bay-Waveland Yacht Club (BWYC) on June 10-11.
This year, all of the yacht clubs in the Gulf Yachting Association (GYA) are invited to compete while in past years only Mississippi yacht clubs have been eligible to compete in the annual sailing event.
This historic team race sailing event started in 1950 when the Chapman brothers donated the Chapman Trophy to the MCYA.
The winner of the trophy each year is recognized as the championship yacht club of the Mississippi Coast Yachting Association (MCYA).
The Chapman Regatta is said to be the oldest consecutively sailed team race sailing event in the United States.
In addition to hosting this event BWYC is also proud to be the defending champion yacht club this year having consecutively won the MCYA Chapman Trophy in eight of the past eight years and for 36 wins of the competition in the 67 years of the overall competition.
BWYC Rear Commodore Eugene Schmitt will serve as the 2017 BWYC Chapman Team Captain.
The BWYC regatta officials who will be in charge are: BWYC Commodore Dina Rosetta, General Regatta Chairman Commodore Boo Heausler and Principal Race Officer Kippy Chamberlain who all look forward to hosting a first class sailboat regatta both ashore and on the water.
The seven Mississippi Yacht Clubs which normally compete are: Bay-Waveland Yacht Club, Biloxi Yacht Club, Gulfport Yacht Club, Pass Christian Yacht Club, Long Beach Yacht Club, Ocean Springs Yacht Club and Singing River Yacht Club.


Advertise Here