Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Diamondhead City Council candidate passes away, name still on ballot
By Dwayne Bremer
Apr 18, 2017, 17:04

Vincent "Vince" Principe, who was running for the Ward One City Council seat in Diamondhead, passed away on Saturday, officials said.
Principe was a decorated former serviceman, officials said.
His name will still appear on the ballot for the May 2 primary because absentee balloting has already begun, officials said.
Also appearing on the ballot in Diamondhead will be Ward Four candidate Jessie Maxwell, who informed election officials two weeks ago that he would not accept the position if he were to win.
According to state law, once ballots are printed, candidates cannot simply withdraw from the race. Candidates can, however, declare that they will not accept the position and a sign will be posted by the polls.
Principe's passing leaves incumbent Nancy Depreo as the only candidate remaining in the Ward One race.
Absentee voting in Diamondhead, Bay St. Louis, and Pass Christian will continue until next Saturday, April 29.
Absentee ballots can be cast at each city's respective city hall during normal business hours Monday through Friday.
In addition, absentee ballots can be cast on Saturday, April 22 and Saturday, April 29 from 8 a.m. until noon.
Other candidates in Diamondhead include:
*At-Large: Carl Necaise and Lindsey "Tink" L'Ecuyer, both Republicans.
.*Ward Two: Incumbent Tom Woolbright and Alan Moran, both Republicans.
*Ward Three; Jamie Wetzel-Morgan and Joy Dinella, both Republicans.
*Ward Four, Incumbent Ron Rech, Kenneth Edmonds Jr., and Kodie Koennen, all Republicans.
Mayoral candidates include John Fletcher, Ernie Knobloch, and Incumbent Tommy Schafer.

*Bay St. Louis:
Heading the list is the mayor's race, which has four candidates, Incumbent Mayor Les Fillingame, Mike Favre, and Rachael Ramsey, all Democrats. Jeff Harding in the lone Republican in the race.
Other Bay St. Louis races include:
*Ward One: Incumbent Doug Seal (I) and George Williams (R).
*Ward Two: Incumbent Wendy McDonald (D), Carol Strohmetz (D) and Gene Hoffman (R).
*Ward Three: Incumbent Jeff Reed (D) and Kevin Avery (D).
*Ward Four: Larry Smith (R), Kyle Lewis (R), Tad Black (D) and Gisele Bradley (D).
*Ward Five: Incumbent Joey Boudin (D) and Buddy Zimmerman (R).
*Ward Six: Incumbent Lonnie Falgout (I) and Josh DeSalvo (R).
*At-Large: Gary Knoblock (R), Susan Veglia (I), MIke Weems (D) and Thaddus Collier (D).

*Pass Christian:
The only remaining race in Pass Christian that is contested is the Ward Two Alderman seat.
In that race, incumbent Earl Washington will take on challenger Regina Charlot in the Democratic primary.
Polls will open on May 2 at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.


Advertise Here