Sponsor the Sea Coast Echo Weather! Call Jace at 228-467-5474
Mike Favre set to challenge Les Fillingame in Bay mayor's race
By Dwayne Bremer
Feb 14, 2017, 18:01

Bay St. Louis City Councilman-at-Large Mike Favre confirmed Tuesday that he is running for mayor in this year's municipal election.
Incumbent Mayor Les Fillingame has also said he is running for re-election.
Favre's announcement will likely pave the way for several more candidates to qualify in the coming weeks.
He has been rumored to be running for mayor for the past year.
Others have said they were awaiting his decision before announcing their intentions.
It will also open up another spot on the Bay St. Louis City Council.
Ward Four Councilman Bobby Compretta has already announced that he will not seek reelection.
Ward Two Councilwoman Wendy McDonald, Ward Five Councilman Joey Boudin, and Ward Six Councilman Lonnie Falgout have yet to qualify for reelection.
Incumbents Doug Seal (Ward One) and Jeffrey Reed (Ward) are the only councilmen to qualify for reelection by press time Tuesday.
Other candidates who have qualified include:
*Ward Two: Carol Strohmetz (D), Jeff Harding (R) and Gene Hoffman (R).
*Ward Four: Larry Smith (R), Gary Knoblock (R), Tad Black (R), Kyle Lewis (R) and Gisele Bradley (D).
*Ward Five: Buddy Zimmerman (R).
*At large: Susan Veglia (I)
Candidates have until March 3 at 5 p.m. to qualify.
The 2017 primaries for Bay St. Louis, Diamondhead, and Pass Christian will be held on May 2.
The general election will be held on June 6.
In Pass Christian, all of the city's aldermen and Mayor Chipper McDermott have qualified for reelection. So far, no challengers for any race in Pass Christian have qualified.
In Diamondhead, incumbent Mayor Tommy Schafer and Ernie Knobloch the current councilman-at-large are both seeking the mayor's seat. Both are Republicans.
Other Diamondhead races include:
*At Large: Carl Necaise, Kenny Edmonds, and Lindsey "Tink" L'Ecuyer, all Republicans.
*Ward One: Nancy Depreo (R), incumbent.
*Ward Two: Incumbent Tom Woolbright and Alan Moran, both Republicans.
*Ward Three, Jamie Wetzel-Morgan and Joy Dinella, both Republicans.
*Ward Four, Incumbent Ron Rech (R).

Anyone wanting more information about the upcoming elections can call their respective city's hall.


Advertise Here